The international English language testing system (IELTS) is the world’s most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration. It is jointly managed by university of Cambridge ESOL Examinations, the British Council and IDP Education Australia. There are two types of the IELTS test: IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training.

  1. IELTS Academic: The IELTS Academic test is for people applying for higher education or professional registration in an English speaking environment. This approach is widely supported by the institutions that recognize IELTS.
  2. IELTS General Training: The IELTS General Training test is for those who are going to English speaking countries for secondary education, work experience or training programs. It focuses on basic survival skills in broad social and workplace contexts.

IELTS Test Form

IELTS test consist of four modules – Listening, Reading Writing and Speaking. Listening and Speaking are same for both types of IELTS whereas Reading and Writing module are different for the candidate as per their choice of test either Academic or General Training.

Listening, Reading and Writing modules are completed in one day with no breaks in them. While the speaking module can be completed on other day, informed few days before by Test Centre. Generally up to a week before or after other parts.

Test Duration

The total test time is 2 hours and 45 minutes.

Listening – 30 minutes

Reading – 60 minutes

Writing – 60 minutes

Speaking – 11-14 minutes


IELTS is score on a nine band scale. Candidate will get a score from 1 to 9 for each module of the test – Listening, Reading, Writing and Speaking. The overall band score is given on the average score of all the modules.

An IELTS Test Report Form (TRF) is valid for 2 years.

IELTS test fee is Rs 16950 in Nepal.